Honor Our Active Military and Our Veterans

American stars and stripes flag background Royalty Free Stock Photos

November 11 is a day set aside to honor our military women and men. To me, this means honoring both those presently serving and those who served in years gone by. It takes special people to put country before self, and I honestly don’t know how they do it. Yes, I am extremely grateful.

I hope you remember Patrick Henry from your American history.  He was a member of the Virginia House of Burgesses and a delegate to the Continental Congress for two years (1774-75).  An outstanding patriot, his oratory fired people up enough to join the fight against the British. Think of his words as we honor him and other American patriots on Veteran’s Day.

“Is life so dear, or peace so sweet, as to be purchased at the price of chains and slavery? Forbid it, Almighty God! I know not what course others may take; but as for me, give me liberty, or give me death!”

If you don’t mind, I’d like to get a little personal and share some memories of military men from my family. The closest was my dad who volunteered and served in the Army. My older brother served in the Navy, but it was my cousin David who gave his life in the defense of his country. David was the only child of my Aunt Nannie and Uncle Tice. He was a star tennis player at Texas Tech as well as its student body president. In France, he took out a Nazi machine gun nest, giving his life for his country. I am forever in awe of his courage. His parents never got over the death of their only child; they are not alone in their grief. Stand before the Vietnam Memorial. Read the names. Weep and remember that each name has at least one person, probably more, who loves that soldier, that name etched in stone.

Today, please think about others like David who we honor every day, but especially on Veteran’s Day. There are almost countless young men who have taken up arms to defend our American liberty and that of other countries. I salute them all and pray that they’ll return safely to their families. Thank you, thank you, thank you.

Annie Ambles is grateful for all America’s military people

2 thoughts on “Honor Our Active Military and Our Veterans

  1. I served, during the Viet Nam war, but thankfully never had to fight. I was in the Air Force, and the Army guys called us draft dodgers. Which sounds nasty, but is basically true. I would not have joined the Air Force if I had not been about to be drafted. I don’t feel that anyone owes me a debt of gratitude since I didn’t fight, and actually had a rather good life in Biloxi, Mississippi, where I made contacts that helped launch a career in the computer industry.

    Like

Leave a Reply

