Making a List and Checking It Twice

How many lists do you have? The first one that probably comes to mind is the gift list–mine and others.

A recent conversation revealed that I am on my own when obtaining gifts for my beloved daughter. She is, likewise, on her own to get things for me. “What do you want for Christmas?” I asked. When she replied, “Whatever you want to get me.”

Simple enough, but NO! A rather complex answer. An order from Amazon fulfills one of my gifts to her, and a financial gift will ensure she has two new screen doors for her lovely home. Those will be impossible to wrap, so I’ll just write a check.

When she asked me what I want, I quickly replied, “Consumables. I have enough stuff.” I think most of us who are older feel this way. No one, but my friend Gladys, wants another knickknack to put on the shelf and dust. Just bring on the monthly fruit subscription, the bottles of wine (red preferably), the homemade jelly or preserves, the fudge, divinity, peanut brittle, and cookies. Please no fruitcake, even from the Collin Street Bakery. I’m willing to indulge at this time of year, but I draw the line at fruitcake.

Christmas Present Border Clipart | Clipart Panda - Free Clipart Images

The second list is the menu one. Having family and friends in for parties and meals requires some planning. Favorites must be prepared and consumed. I could take the easy way out, the route of less resistance, and take them out to eat, but I’m a Cancer who loves to entertain, thus the need for the menu list. I like to have people over to eat and drink, so beverages are included on this list. Luckily, I have a big refrigerator and plenty of storage. In fact, the cabinet above the kitchen sink contains nothing but baking supplies. Bread making is a dormant passion that is resurrected at this time of year.

Christmas Dinner Menu

The grocery list is the easiest to create. The holiday ingredients for candy, cookies, cakes must be purchased well ahead of time. Things you don’t buy at other times of year–citron, dried fruit, mincemeat, orange slices, various nuts and spices, chocolate–add to the time and money you’ll be spending at the grocery store. Most of these lovelies will be gifted to others. The real stuff needed for the meals won’t be bought until closer to Christmas Day.

Soaring Food Costs to Affect Christmas Spending | My Merry Christmas

The last list is the “to do” one. You’re on your own for this one as each “to do” will depend on your needs and traditions. Tonight I’ll be attending the Bass Hall performance of Handel’s Messiah, which is one of my holiday traditions. Christmas Eve after our family party, I usually go to my church’s candlelight service–another tradition. Unpacking Christmas decorations, putting up the balcony lights, decorating the condo, buying and wrapping gifts, grocery shopping, cooking and baking, serving, enjoying, and loving are all on my “to do” list. What’s on yours?

Christmas Eve Candlelight Service | Santa Cruz Photographer » Aimee ...

Annie Ambles thinks about her lists

Leave a Reply

