Powerball Fever

Have you recently taken your temperature? Not your body’s, but your mind’s? Mine is out of sight, over the edge, dreaming of riches beyond even Jett’s oil bounty fortune in “Giant.” Yes, I succumbed to Powerball Fever. I don’t usually gamble, but in this case, I’m risking two bucks in the hope/dream/fikkt of winning nearly one billion dollars. Makes me nervous when I type that number.

Yes, Virginia, the Powerball jackpot is nearly at that amount. Who knows what it will be by drawing time tonight. The Powerball jackpot has not, in my memory, ever reached a billion dollars. To win, you’ve got to pick all six numbers. What are the odds of picking all six numbers? About one in 202 million. Ha! All of us who bought tickets may feel like suckers tonight, but if you don’t play, if you don’t plunk down that two dollars to get a ticket, you certainly won’t win.

It goes without saying that you’re not going to use your grocery, prescription, or rent/house payment money to buy tickets. We’re all smarter than that. Daydreaming about what the money could do for me and my family gives me some happiness. How about you? What would you do with the money?

Annie Ambles to 7-11 to get one Powerball ticket

Leave a Reply

