Haiku, Tanka, and Cinquain

... Library, Art Collections, and Botanical Gardens - The Japanese Garden

Are you thinking that I’ve recently taken up Japanese? Not entirely correct, but I am taking another creative writing class at Tarrant County College’s Northwest Campus. My assignment is to write three poems, but using different styles. Here are my creations that I hope you enjoy. Amateurish? Quite, but it was fun trying to fit the correct number of syllables on each line. Hopefully, you won’t judge, but will enjoy the images.

Rippling water,
wind stirring waves over fish,
Neptune surfaces.
(Haiku)

Stark, leafless branches
Gloom extinguishes our fire,
embers hide below.
I hear your laughter intact
in my frozen heart.
(Tanka)

Sunny.
A bud opens.
Spring brings new joys.
Golden opportunities here.
Surprise!
(Cinquain)

Annie Ambles waxes poetic

Leave a Reply

